Subject & Course Guides: One Book, One College: Research Resources

Reedley College Library Catalog

Find Books, DVDs, & more. We appreciate your feedback!

Search Here

eBooks

Illegal Encounters by Deborah A. Boehm (Editor); Susan J. Terrio (Editor)
ISBN: 9781479887798
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
They Never Come Back by Frans J. Schryer
ISBN: 9780801455124
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
The Dangerous Divide by Peter Eichstaedt
ISBN: 9781613748374
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Divided by the Wall by Emine Fidan Elcioglu
ISBN: 9780520340350
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Living Illegal by Marie Friedmann Marquardt; Timothy J. Steigenga; Philip J. Williams; Manuel A. Vásquez
ISBN: 9781595589019
Publication Date: 2013-04-02

Databases

Credo Academic Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The Academic Core Collection covers the primary disciplines of Higher Education, providing students with the reference tools they need to perform research at any level of study. Topic Pages promote e-resource discovery and library database understanding and usage, making them the ideal starting point for exploratory searching.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
The complete academic encyclopedia, related articles, images, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, forecasting, pros and cons, maps and graphs, bibliographies, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A focus on social issues provided in viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal, magazine and newspaper articles, and recommended web sites.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. Numerous specialized databases in psychology, sociology, the sciences, and many more.

Online Resources

US Border Enforcement and the Net Flow of Mexican Illegal Migration
The article presents an in-depth examination into U.S.-Mexican border enforcement and its connections to illegal immigration trends. Statistical analysis is presented estimating the inflow and outflow of Mexican migrants to the United States between 1972 and 2003 and evaluating its effectiveness. Further attention is given to the methodological use of choice-based sampling analysis on the data and its research benefits. Findings highlight different statistical correlations between border enforcement strictness and migration behaviors. Conclusions are also provided identifying overall effectiveness of the border system.
Does border enforcement deter unauthorized immigration? The case of Mexican migration to the United States of America
This paper asks whether the migration decisions of unauthorized Mexican immigrants to the USA have been influenced by stronger US border enforcement efforts since 1993 that have sharply increased the physical risk and financial cost of illegal immigration. These measures were supposed to have decreased the probability of successful entry, thereby lowering the expected benefits of migration. We carried out a logistic regression analysis of data from a recent survey of 603 returned migrants and potential first-time migrants in rural Mexico. Our findings indicate that tougher border controls have had remarkably little influence on the propensity to migrate illegally to the USA. Political restrictions on immigration are far outweighed by economic and family-related incentives to migrate. An alternative, labor-market approach to immigration control with higher probability of effectiveness is outlined.
US Border Enforcement and the Net Flow of Mexican Illegal Migration
The article presents an in-depth examination into U.S.-Mexican border enforcement and its connections to illegal immigration trends. Statistical analysis is presented estimating the inflow and outflow of Mexican migrants to the United States between 1972 and 2003 and evaluating its effectiveness. Further attention is given to the methodological use of choice-based sampling analysis on the data and its research benefits. Findings highlight different statistical correlations between border enforcement strictness and migration behaviors. Conclusions are also provided identifying overall effectiveness of the border system.

Key Search Terms

Possible Search Terms and Topic Key Words:

Immigration
Mexican Border
Illegal Immigration
Coyotes Immigration
Undocumented Immigrants
Mexican-American Border

Search Tips and Strategies

This is a box to be copied, as the information should offer examples geared to the students using this guide.

Develop Strategies for Searching

Use quotes around phrases
- "hydraulic fracturing" "junk food" "drug abuse" "peer groups"

Use AND to narrow a search and combine different ideas
- "junk food" AND taxation "peer groups" AND "drug abuse"

Use NOT to narrow a search by removing unwanted terms
- "family formation" NOT marriage religion NOT culture

Use OR to widen a search -- OR gives you mORe
- "hydraulic fracturing" OR fracking "peer group*" OR friend*
Combine strategies to narrow or define a search more clearly
- ("junk food" AND tax*) AND obesity
- (concussion OR "traumatic brain injur*") AND football
- ("wildland firefighting OR "forest fires") AND safety

Use Truncation – cuts off the endings and returns all forms of a root word
Add an asterisk (shift 8) to the end of the word

tax* returns taxes taxing taxation taxed
friend* returns friend friendly friends friendless