ENG 1A - Lyons: Database Search Tips

1.Select the most appropriate research database for your research need. 

Ex. Issue or argumentative paper? = CQ Researcher, Opposing ViewPoints, SIRS. - or ALSO a multidisciplinary databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete (NOTE: Make sure to "Choose Databases" and select the appropriate "mini" databases on your topic in EBSCOHost).

2. Use the KEYWORDS and PHRASES you developed in your CONCEPT MAP to search. 

Your main subject is identified in the center of you Concept Map and should be what you search in a BASIC SEARCH AREA - or - on the very top line in the Advanced Search area along with related issues and considerations on 2nd, 3rd lines.

**IMPORTANT: Students are required to LOGIN from computers   off-campus using your Student ID Number for both Username and Password.

If you cannot login in, please email: andrew.ho@reedleycollege.edu with your Full Name and Student ID for access to the system.

Research Databases usually have BASIC and ADVANCED SEARCH areas.

When given a choice, click on the ADVANCED SEARCH area of the databases and utilize the drop down menus to the right of each search box (start with the default "Select a Field").

Use the database LIMITERS in the Advanced Search Section:

PHRASE SEARCHING - two or more words must have quotation marks around them.

Examples of phrases. "Middle East" or "Syrian refugees" Limit to two words and no more than three words.

TRUNCATION (or Truncating)words will return all forms of a root word. The asterik * cuts      off a suffix or ending.
Note: To truncate add an asterisk (Shift + 8 keys) to the end of the word

• immigra* (To retrieve immigrant and immigration and immigrate)

BOOLEAN OPERATORS

Also, in the Advanced Search areas, utilize the drop down BOOLEAN OPERATORS  to the left of the search boxes (Ex. AND, OR or NOT):

Use AND Boolean Operator to narrow a search and combine different ideas

• refugees AND "united states"
• diaspora AND migrations

OR Boolean Operator widens a search using synonyms -- OR gives you mORe

• diaspora OR refugee* 
• Armenian OR Sudanese OR Syrian     

NOT Boolean Operator narrows a search to remove unwanted terms

• Syria NOT Iraq 

Nest keywords with parenthesis ( ) and phrases with quotes " "  to further narrow a search and create your collective SEARCH QUERY

• ("Middle East" OR Syria) AND refugees
•  refugees AND ("United Sates" OR U.S. OR America)