Reedley College Library - History 12 - Pantoja - Subject & Course Guides at Reedley College

Ebooks

Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century United States History by Robert Muccigrosso; Ronald Blazek; Teri Maggio
ISBN: 9780313300967
Publication Date: 1999-05-30
Students will write more effective term papers with this guide to 500 term paper ideas--as well as a listing of appropriate print and nonprint sources-- on twentieth-century U.S. history. This guide presents entries on 100 of the most important events and developments in twentieth-century U.S. history organized in chronological order. Each entry consists of a short description of the event, followed by five specific suggestions for term papers about the event, and a wide-ranging annotated bibliography of 15-35 books, articles, videos, and a web site appropriate for student research. In every case the emphasis is on recent and up-to-date material, as well as landmark works and primary sources. Every entry contains a video and concludes with a recommended web site, producing a multimedia approach designed to appeal to the current information-gathering habits and preferences of young people. From the Spanish-American War to the creation of NAFTA, the 100 events and developments cover political, social, economic, and cultural issues. The work has been designed to meet the needs of the U.S. history curriculum. Term paper topic ideas offer students thought-provoking suggestions that are challenging and develop critical thinking skills. The annotated bibliography is organized into reference sources, general sources, specialized sources, biographical sources, periodical articles, recommended videos and World Wide Web sites. All items are readily available in school, public, and academic library collections. This unique guide is valuable not only to students, but to teachers and librarians who guide students in research, and is an excellent purchasing guide for librarians who serve student needs.
Primary Documents by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
American Decades Primary Sources is a 10-volume set spanning the 20th century. As a companion to Gales popular American Decades series or as a stand-alone, American Decades Primary Sources provides fresh insight into the decades most important events, people, and issues. Each volume of American Decades Primary Sources includes approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. Also included are concise contextual information, notes about the author, further resources, and more than 250 photos and illustrations. Patterned after the popular American Decades series, each American Decades Primary Sources volume includes chapters on the arts, medicine and health, media, education, world events, religion, government and politics, lifestyles and social trends, law and justice, religion, business and the economy, and sports. Included to provide unique perspectives and a wealth of understanding are: Oral histories Songs Speeches Advertisements TV, play and movie scripts Letters Laws Legal decisions Newspaper articles Cartoons Recipes And much more

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. Numerous specialized databases in psychology, sociology, the sciences, and many more.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center is the world's most extensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, periodicals, and many other historical sources from leading history publishers.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
E-book collection for subjects such as literature, history, science, health, and careers. Access to the physical imprints of this collection is available in the library.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Valuable index for libraries, scholars, and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
American Indian Experience, The This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience gives students entry into an often neglected side of American history, illuminating both the historical and contemporary practices of more than 150 Native American tribes across North America with
more than 2,000 primary and secondary sources, including a collection of treaties established between tribes and the U.S. government.
Primary and Secondary Sources - More than 2,000 primary and secondary sources provide a full exploration of the American Indian experience,
including captivity narratives, traditional stories, treaties, speeches, maps, and images.
African American Experience, The This link opens in a new window
Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts, from early slave narratives to the presidency of Barack Obama.
Primary and Secondary Sources - Nearly 8,000 primary and secondary sources comprise this extensive historical catalog, including essays, slave
narratives, speeches, court cases, and more.
Biographies - Nearly 1,000 biographies of famous political and social figures, including W.E.B. DuBois, Barack Obama, Frederick Douglass, and Oprah Winfrey.
CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government This link opens in a new window
Answers a full range of questions that you may have about the Presidency, Congress, Supreme Court, Constitution, elections, resources, illustrations, and government links.
Latino American Experience, The This link opens in a new window
The Latino American Experience offers students a deep exploration of this growing national identity that includes Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans,
Cubans, Dominicans, Columbians, Ecuadorians, and other Latino peoples in the U.S., with a full library of nearly 5,000 primary and secondary sources.
Primary and Secondary Sources - Nearly 5,000 primary and secondary sources comprise a full library, including maps, speeches, songs, interviews, and photographs.
Biographies - More than 700 biographies profiling notable political and social figures such as Simón Bolívar, David Farragut, Rita Hayworth, Sonia Sotomayor, and more.

Books

Prelude to the Century, 1870-1900 by Time-Life Books Editors
ISBN: 9780783555126
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
People you remember. Moments you'll never forget. Our American Century is a series of books chronicling our lives in powerful time capsules, from the dawn of the century -- when horses outnumbered cars 21 million to eight thousand -- to its close.
The Reckless Decade by H. W. Brands
ISBN: 9780312135942
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Complex conflict resolution theories distilled into a user friendly program for domestic tranquility.
Images of America by Smithsonian Institution Staff
ISBN: 9780895990235
Publication Date: 1989-09-17
The book explores six generations of American life: from telescope-maker Henry Fitz, who used Daguerre's then-revolutionary process of 1839 to create an image of his face, to the electronic and digital technology of 1989, photography's 150th anniversary.
1001 Things Everyone Should Know about American History by John A. Garraty
ISBN: 9780385244329
Publication Date: 1992-09-27
Garraty (history, Columbia) here provides a popular treatment of the subject. He includes lots of pictures, short entries, and no bibliography. Acidic paper. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Native American Boarding Schools by Mary A. Stout
ISBN: 9780313386770
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
A broadly based historical survey, this book examines Native American boarding schools in the United States from Puritan times to the present day. Hundreds of thousands of Native Americans are estimated to have attended Native American boarding schools during the course of over a century. Today, many of the off-reservation Native American boarding schools have closed, and those that remain are in danger of losing critical federal funding. Ironically, some Native Americans want to preserve them. This book provides a much-needed historical survey of Native American boarding schools that examines all of these educational institutions across the United States and presents a balanced view of many personal boarding school experiences--both positive and negative. Author Mary A. Stout, an expert in American Indian subjects, places Native American boarding schools in context with other American historical and educational movements, discussing not only individual facilities but also the specific outcomes of this educational paradigm. Draws upon actual student letters and documents relating to boarding school experiences Presents biographical profiles of such key figures as Col. Richard Pratt, founder of Carlisle Indian School; and Jim Thorpe, American athlete and Carlisle graduate Provides a chronology of Native American boarding schools in the United States from the 1600s to the present Supplies an annotated bibliography of key research resources on Native American boarding schools Includes a glossary defining hundreds of terms relating to Indian culture and history

History 12 - Pantoja: Reedley College Library

History since 1865

Ebooks

Databases

Books