History 12 - Pantoja: Search Topics and Tips

Research Topic:  McCarthyism

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Political Science Complete, Primary Search, History Reference Center, Points of View Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, type:  Mccarthyism

You can also search:  DE "MCCARTHYISM"

An example of full-text articles you will find using these keywords:

• "A Delicate Matter": The 1958 Special Education Committee Hearing
• Emancipation From Dogma
• Defending Repression

You can also search the database JSTOR with these same keywords and get lots of good articles and access to eBooks.

Research Topic:  The Progressive Era 

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Political Science Complete, Primary Search, History Reference Center, Points of View Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, depending on your topic, type:  "Progressive Era" and Eugenics, or "Progressive Era" and New York, or "Progressive Era" and California, or "Progressive Era" and Oregon, or "Progressive Era" and Wisconsin or "Progressive Era" and Tennessee

Lots of articles and eBooks are available on these topics.  You can also search in JSTOR using the keywords above, to find a good variety of articles and primary source documents.

An example of full-text articles you will find using these keywords:

• Anti-Black Racial Violence and Popular Culture in the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
• Race and Restriction: Anti–Asian Immigration Pressures in the Pacific North–west of America during the Progressive Era, 1885–1924
• The California Progressives
• The Search for Marital Order: Civic Membership and the Politics of Marriage in the Progressive Era
• Religion and Evolution in Progressive Era Political Economy: Adversaries or Allies?
• Why Wisconsin? The Badger Stare in the Progressive Era

Research Topic:  Kellogg-Briand Pact

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Political Science Complete, Primary Search, History Reference Center, Points of View Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, type:  "Kellogg-Briand" pact

There are lots of articles, primary source documents, eBooks and print books available on this topic

Sample of full-text articles found:

• The Kellogg-Briand Pact: A Reappraisal
• 'In Relation to the Pact': Radical Pacifists and the Kellogg-Briand Pact, 1928-1939
• Drop Your Weapons
• International law and its transformation through the outlawry of war

Research Topic:  Political and cultural changes in American Society after World War I

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Political Science Complete, Primary Search, History Reference Center, Points of View Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, type:  Post World War I America, or "Defining Documents: World War I", or America WWI aftermath, or America after World War I

Sample of full-text articles found:

• The Injustice of the Woman's Vote:  Opposition to Female Suffrage after World War I
• Before the Roar:  U.S. Unemployment Relief after World War I and the Long History of Paternalist Welfare Policy

Research Topic:  The Washington Naval Treaty

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, and MasterFILE Complete.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, type:  "Washington Naval Treaty"

Sample of full-text articles found:

• Collective Security and Internal Dissent:  The Navy's League Attempts to Develop a New Policy towards British Naval Power between 1919 and the 1922 Washington Naval Treaty
• The Navy General Board and Naval Arms Limitation:  1922-1937

Books are available on this topic in the library.

Research Topic:  1950's American advertising and commercialism

Database that we will be using:  Academic Search Complete

Start by going to Academic Search Complete and selecting these databases, under the Choose Databases link:  Academic Search Complete, America:  History and Life, eBook Collection, MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Political Science Complete, Primary Search, History Reference Center, Points of View Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection.  Watch the video above for instructions on how to do this!

In the search box, type:  1950s American advertising

Selection of articles found: 

• Mickeys, Minis and Pints: An Investigation of the Marketing and Advertising Initiatives of Seagram and Hiram Walker, 1950-1969
• Looking to the Future, Selling the Past: Churchill Weavers Marketing Strategies in the 1950s