If you cannot login in, please email: andrew.ho@reedleycollege.edu with your Full Name and Student ID for access to the system.
RESEARCH STEPS:
1.Select the most appropriate research database for your research need.
Ex. Issue or argumentative paper? = CQ Researcher, Opposing ViewPoints, SIRS. - or ALSO a multidisciplinary databases like EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete (NOTE: Make sure to "Choose Databases" and select the appropriate "mini" databases on your topic in EBSCOHost).
2. Use the KEYWORDS and PHRASES you developed in your CONCEPT MAP to search (For template see: Getting Started with your Research tab).
Your main subject is identified in the center of you Concept Map and should be what you search in a BASIC SEARCH AREA - or - on the very top line in the Advanced Search area.
Concept Maps link your Main Topic with your Details (or related issues or points). More specifically, details are examples in the form of information sources that support your Thesis or Research Statement.
Research Databases usually have BASIC and ADVANCED SEARCH areas.
When given a choice, click on the ADVANCED SEARCH area of the databases and utilize the drop down menus to the right of each search box (start with the default "Select a Field").
Use the database LIMITERS in the Advanced Search Section:
HOW A DATABASE SEARCHES
BOOLEAN OPERATORS
Also, in the Advanced Search areas, utilize the drop down BOOLEAN OPERATORS to the left of the search boxes (Ex. AND, OR or NOT):
Use AND Boolean Operator to narrow a search and combine different ideas
OR Boolean Operator widens a search using synonyms -- OR gives you mORe
NOT Boolean Operator narrows a search to remove unwanted terms
Combine search terms to further narrow a search and create your SEARCH QUERY
PHRASE SEARCHING
Searching on two or more words must have quotation marks around them.
Examples of phrases "holocaust survivors" or "concentration camps" - Try to limit to no more than three words and be aware that more than two words is going to limit your search results.
NESTING ~ words or phrases
Nesting uses parentheses ( ) to keep concepts that are alike together, and to tell the database to look for search terms in the parentheses first. Nesting also uses the Boolean operator OR to connect like terms and the Boolean operator AND to connect the like terms to the rest of the search. Searches may retrieve vastly different results if the parentheses are omitted.
Examples:
holocaust AND (jews OR jewish)
TRUNCATION (or Truncating) ~ words
Truncation – returns all forms of a root word. The asterik * cuts 
off a suffix or ending.
Note: To truncate add an asterisk (Shift + 8 keys) to the end of the word