Bracks, L. L., & Bracks, L. L. (2009). Black History Month/Negro History Week (est. 1926). In J. C. Smith, & L. T. Wynn, Freedom facts and firsts: 400 years of the African American civil rights experience. Visible Ink Press. Credo Reference.
Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts, from early slave narratives to the presidency of Barack Obama.
Biographies of people, both current and historic, full text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to recommended sites.
A comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
Definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
2021 - The Black Family: Representation, Identity, and Diversity
Announced by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (“ASALH”).
"The black family has been a topic of study in many disciplines—history, literature, the visual arts and film studies, sociology, anthropology, and social policy. Its representation, identity, and diversity have been reverenced, stereotyped, and vilified from the days of slavery to our own time. The black family knows no single location, since family reunions and genetic-ancestry searches testify to the spread of family members across states, nations, and continents. Not only are individual black families diasporic, but Africa and the diaspora itself have been long portrayed as the black family at large. While the role of the black family has been described by some as a microcosm of the entire race, its complexity as the “foundation” of African American life and history can be seen in numerous debates over how to represent its meaning and typicality from a historical perspective—as slave or free, as patriarchal or matriarchal/matrifocal, as single-headed or dual-headed household, as extended or nuclear, as fictive kin or blood lineage, as legal or common law, and as black or interracial, etc. Variation appears, as well, in discussions on the nature and impact of parenting, childhood, marriage, gender norms, sexuality, and incarceration. The family offers a rich tapestry of images for exploring the African American past and present."
Thursday, February 3rd, 2022
During College Hour from 1:00-2:00 PM
This research guide was originally created by Shivon Hess in 2021. It is currently updated by Alissa Gonzalez.