MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Make use of Online Writing Lab at Purdue University, their guides will help you create your bibliography, the in-text citations, direct and indirect quotes, annotated bibliographies and much more!
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL PURDUE)
These tools build citations from information that you enter about the resource. Beware that sometimes the citations need fixing, so always double-check their accuracy in one of the manuals.
KnightCite from Calvin College
Citation Builder from North Carolina State University
Son of a Citation Machine from The Landmark Project
EasyBib This online source is available at Reedley College
(Click logo to create or access your account)
Plug in your information and EasyBib provides either the MLA and APA formatting. Register as a user first, then your citation and source organization problems are solved.
Always log into EasyBib before starting your research to export citations immediately!
Most library databases contain a link for each article labeled "Cite" or "Cite this." These links generate a citation for the article from the database.
In EBSCO databases, look for the "Cite" icon. This can be found under "Tools" to the right of each article record:
Several citations will appear in various styles. Identify which style you need to use. Always double-check the citation generated by the databases in your MLA Handbook or go to O.W.L. Purdue Writing Lab.