Subject & Course Guides: ENG 1A- Reyes-Pop Culture: Reedley College Library

Highlighted Resources

Fashion by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: GT 511 .F365 2012

ISBN: 9780756698355

Publication Date: 2012-10-01

Fashion is the ultimate visual guide to everything ever worn. From simple to sophisticated, elegant to excessive, discover more than three thousand years of shifting trends and innovative developments in the world of style.
Tune In by Mark Lewisohn
Call Number: ML 421.B4 L47 2013

ISBN: 9781400083053

Publication Date: 2013-10-29

Tune In is the first volume of All These Years--a highly-anticipated, groundbreaking biographical trilogy by the world's leading Beatles historian. Mark Lewisohn uses his unprecedented archival access and hundreds of new interviews to construct the full story of the lives and work of John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr.
Goth by Michael Bibby (Editor); Lauren M. E. Goodlad (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 796 S6675 2007

ISBN: 9780822339212

Publication Date: 2007-04-11

Since it first emerged from Britain's punk-rock scene in the late 1970s, goth subculture has haunted postmodern culture and society, reinventing itself inside and against the mainstream.
Gender and Pop Culture by Trier-Bieniek, Adrienne
Publication Date: 2014
Feminism and Pop Culture by Zeisler, Andi
Publication Date: 2008
Introducing Philosophy through Pop Culture by Irwin, William
Publication Date: 2010
Buy Black: How Black Women Transformed US Pop Culture by Halliday, Aria
Publication Date: 2022

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. Numerous specialized databases in psychology, sociology, the sciences, and many more.
Biography in Context
Biographies of people, both current and historic, full text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to recommended sites.
Biography Reference Center
A comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
Ebook Central
Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading.
eBook Collection
Access to over 30,000 full-text e-book titles. The multidisciplinary collection features fiction, non-fiction, and reference materials.
JSTOR
Collections on JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) include the complete archival record of each journal. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Thousands of full-text articles from magazines and newspapers on current and enduring topics especially suited for students new to research.
New York Times, The
FYI: You will need to create an account on your first time accessing the New York Times.
With 1,700 reporters on the ground in 150+ countries, The New York Times publishes approximately 250 original pieces of journalism each and every day. Spanning an array of mediums which include award-winning visuals, graphics, and photos to long-form journalism, Times content and resources guide students in their discovery of the important issues surrounding our world today and encourages their engagement in topics that ignite passion and interest within them.