How to use this guide:
Search by Topic Headings
Use suggested KEYWORDS for database search
Access suggested eBooks to look for Countries or Topics
Information on terms, language, common saying or quotes, slang unique to that country, country national anthems, and mottos
Databases:
eBooks:
Information on customs, practices, and rituals such as: weddings, birthday, holidays, and folk culture.
Databases:
eBooks:
Please refer to the library's database page to read more on the types of database that are offered and the subject area of each database.
Your login username is your 7-digit student ID and your password is the same password used to access your student e-mail account. Please contact us at 559-638-0352 or library@reedleycollege.edu if you’re unable to login.
Information on greetings, gestures, facial expression, use of space, symbols, and clothing.
Databases:
Comes with easy-to-browse categories like popular topics with topic overviews, along with a single search box. These topic overviews are great for helping users quickly learn the basics of a topic.
eBooks:
Information on traveling, Do's and Don't's.
eBooks:
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World: a Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs by Culture Shock Series: A Survival Guide to Customs and Etiquette
Series includes:
Addressing Difficult Situations in Foreign-Language Learning by
Most library databases contain a link for each article labeled "cite" or "cite this." These links generate a citation for the article from the database.
These citations often need revision, so always check a citation guide to verify the correct format.
Information on general communication concepts and theories.
Databases:
eBooks:
Recommended keywords when searching (may be used in combinations with Boolean operators):
Customs & Traditions
Farewells
Salutations
[country] AND motto
“Body language”
Nonverbal communication
Language & emotions
Oral communication
Social interaction
Speech AND gesture
Travel OR international etiquette
Search multiple databases at once using the "Choose Database" option above the search bar.
